Please contact your State Division for an application form.

List of API National Awards & Prizes for 2013 include:

• Peter Barrington Gold Medal Award
• New Property Researcher Award
• Ronald Collier Memorial Prize
• Harry Thomas Memorial Award
• Gregory J Preston Education Award

Please contact your State Division for an application form.


The Peter Barrington Award was established in 1985 as an endowment by the Hammerson Group of Companies in recognition of the contribution to the property profession by Peter Barrington. The purpose of the award is to encourage research and excellence in the study of land economy through the presentation of a major work in support of an approved academic program.


The Award is open to all students undertaking a course of study in a property professional field at an Australian academic institution. Submissions from other academic faculties (eg. accounting, law, business administration) shall also be accepted for consideration where the subject matter of the research is considered to be relevant to the advancement of land economy.


The winner shall be awarded an inscribed gold medallion, a framed certificate, and a cheque to the value of $1000. This award shall be presented at an Institute sponsored function. The date of presentation shall be at the discretion of the Chairperson, National Professional Board.


To assist a new property researcher to present a paper at the annual PRRES conference.


• Applicants must be undertaking research for a higher degree in property at an Australian university, which also offers an API-accredited property program at date of award
• Only papers having single author are eligible for consideration
• The successful applicant will present their paper at the next annual PRRES conference


The winner shall be awarded a framed certificate plus a cheque for $1000 to be used towards attendance at the PRRES Conference (airfare, conference registration, accommodation), where the award will be formally presented


To encourage young practitioners to contribute to the advancement of the profession through the conduct of applied research of matters relevant to valuation.


The Award is open to all practitioners of valuation under 30 years of age as at 31 December in the year in which the paper was written.


The winner shall be awarded an inscribed gold medallion, a certificate and shall be invited to attend a major industry conference to be determined by the Trustee. The Award shall provide for registration fees, travel and accommodation up to the value of $2,000.


To secure an esteemed professional to present a lecture on a subject relevant to the property professions.


There shall be no restriction on the professional qualifications or membership of the speaker. However, the subject matter of the lecture shall be relevant to the property industry and contribute to the advancement of the property professions.



• Applicant will be an API Associate Member with Certified Practising Valuer (CPV)
• Applicant will have completed an API endorsed TAFE Advanced Diploma in Property (Valuation)
• Applicant will have completed an API Endorsed Post Graduate Upgrade qualification to meet Associate Membership with CPV entry requirements. Upgrade Qualification must be completed as the Institute recognises the combination of an API endorsed TAFE Advanced Diploma in Property (Valuation) and an API endorsed Post Graduate Qualification (endorsed for CPV) as the equivalent of an endorsed Bachelor’s Degree, as meeting the requirements for Associate Membership (CPV).
• Application will include academic transcripts of PG Upgrade Qualification and a 1500 word paper on a contemporary property issue

The Award will be presented to the best applicant based on two criteria:

1. Post Graduate Qualification Results – the API will apply a ranking system on marks obtained 2. The completion of a 1500 word paper on a self selected contemporary property issue.

A $1000 prize will be awarded annually.

Applications will close on 30 November, and the Panel of Judges will announce the winner no later than 30 March the following year. Applicants are required to apply for the prize in the year in which they became an Associate Member with CPV of the API.

Application forms are available from API Divisional offices.

Applicants eligible for the Award will be provided with an Application Form on achieving Associate Membership with CPV by their Division, or applicants can download it from the API’s website.

The Judging Panel will consist of two API National Education Board Members, one API National Professional Board Member and the API National President.

Publication Requirement: the Award Recipient will have his/her paper printed in an appropriate API publication.