The new world of politics

After six years of a minority Labor Government, the people of Australia have voted for a change and installed a conservative Coalition.

We thought we would provide our members with details of the people in charge of the country and the ACT electorate.

The Federal Election on 7 September saw the makeup of government change dramatically with the following results:

Coalition 90 seats
Australian Labor Party 55 seats
Australian Greens 1 seat
Palmer United Party 1 seat
Others 3 seats

At the same time 50% of the senate was up for re-election and two (2) senate seats in Canberra were contested. Our senator details are as follows:

Zed Seselja
Liberal Party of Australia
Former Leader of Opposition in ACT Legislative Assembly and announced contesting Senate position in May 2013.

Kate Lundy
Australian Labor Party
ACT Senator for 17 years and former Minister for Sport and Multicultural Affairs, and Minister Assisting for the Digital Economy and Industry and Innovation.

Ministers and Portfolio

Portfolio Minister
Deputy Prime Minister Warren Truss (Qld)
Foreign Affairs Julie Bishop (WA)
Employment Eric Abetz (Tas)
Attorney General George Brandis (Qld)
Treasurer Joe Hockey (NSW)
Agriculture Barnaby Joyce (NSW)
Education Christopher Pyne (SA)
Indigenous Affairs Nigel Scullion (NT)
Industry Ian Macfarlane (Qld)
Social Services Kevin Andrews (Vic)
Communications Malcolm Turnbull (NSW)
Health, Sport Peter Dutton (Qld)
Small Business Bruce Billson (Vic)
Trade & Investment Andrew Robb (Vic)
Defence David Johnson (WA)
Environment Greg Hunt (Vic)
Immigration & Border Protection Scott Morrison (NSW)
Finance Mathias Cormann (WA)