AGM news & updates

Following its recent national AGM in Canberra, the Australian Property Institute has elected a new National Council and will be embarking on a governance and structural review

A new API National Council was given a solid mandate to implement long-planned changes to the organisation at its recent AGM.

After a challenging 12 months, new API National President Robert Hecek said agreement on cohesiveness and a collaborative approach to service members was cemented at all levels of the organisation.

The API has established a new Governance Committee and Executive that will have oversight of several key projects, which will ensure that the API is positioned to meet membership needs and provide a sound foundation of the API as the pre-eminent home of property professionals.

Mr Hecek said: “Members have a united and dedicated Board that is absolutely committed to implementing the changes agreed to by all. This is a new progressive Board that will be built upon the foundations of transparency and communication with all members and divisions.”

“We will continue to provide progress updates to members, and continue with dedicated and planned progress towards restructure with vision and strategy,” he said.

There was a marked increase in member interest in the AGM this year, with an unprecedented number of votes being recorded and almost 80 members present. Some members at the meeting spoke for the three motions and the majority of members voted for these motions, which were all passed.

API President Robert Hecek acknowledged the high attendance, and said members’ response was exceptional.

“National Councillors began work the very next day on the mandate passed at the AGM. We are united and will work tirelessly. We assure members that they will see positive changes that will be of great benefit to them and to the API as an organisation for the future.”

Former interim National Director Clyde Eastaugh, with API Education Standards Manager, Tracy Kriesel (left), and South Australian Divisional President, Brooke Parish (right) at post-AGM dinner

Mr Hecek also acknowledged the work of API National Professional Indemnity & Compliance Manager, Betty Lehman, who has moved on to pursue other interests. Ms Lehman and several past National Councillors including Milton Cations, Bob Dupont, Tony Gorman and Cameron Harris received awards and acknowledgement for their contribution and services to the API. Bob Connolly received an award for services to the API, especially in the area of international relationships through his work with the IVSC.

In addition to Mr Hecek, the API National Council now comprises:

  • Andrew Cubbins (TAS)
  • Tyrone Hodge (NSW),
  • Mark Kay (SA & NT)
  • Justine Jacono (VIC)
  • Robert Smyth (ACT)
  • Dennis Volk (WA)
  • Philip Western (NSW – Past President)
  • Philip Willington (QLD)
  • Chris Shaw (Independent Legal Advisor)
  • Nicholas van Beek (Young Property Professionals)

The API’s 2013 Annual Report is available at